Our Mythical Hope
in Children’s and Young Adults’ Culture...
The (In)efficacy of Ancient Myths in Overcoming the Hardships of Life


ERC Project’s Structure

Diagramme made by Sonya Nevin and Steve Simons

Scholars with Their Research Themes

Jerzy Axer

Jerzy Axer

Faculty of “Artes Liberales”, University of Warsaw

axer@al.uw.edu.pl

Kotick the Saviour: From Inferno to Paradise with Animals

Evelien Bracke

Evelien Bracke

History and Classics, Swansea University

e.bracke@swansea.ac.uk

Literacy through Classical Myth: Teaching Stories and Languages in Wales

Margaret Bromley

Margaret Bromley

School of Arts, University of New England

mbromle5@une.edu.au

“Somewhere Else” and “Like Nowhere Else on Earth” – Making the World “a Better Place”: Antipodean Representations of Aesop’s Fables

Rachel Bryant Davies

Rachel Bryant Davies

Department of Classics and Ancient History, Durham University

rgwb3@cam.ac.uk

‘Steeds of Magical Capacity’: The Trojan Horse as Children’s Toy since the Nineteenth Century

Krishni Burns

Krishni Burns

Anthropology and Classical Studies, University of Akron

kburns1@uakron.edu

La Fontaine’s Reeds: Adapting Greek Myths to Model Resilience

Marilyn E. Burton

Marilyn E. Burton

Faculty of “Artes Liberales”, University of Warsaw

hespera1@hotmail.com

Mythical Delight and Playfulness in C.S. Lewis’ Till We Have Faces and Chronicles of Narnia

Simon J.G. Burton

Simon J.G. Burton

Faculty of “Artes Liberales”, University of Warsaw

s.burton@al.uw.edu.pl

Mythical Delight and Playfulness in C.S. Lewis’ Till We Have Faces and Chronicles of Narnia

Véronique Dasen

Véronique Dasen

Department of Historical Sciences, University of Fribourg

veronique.dasen@unifr.ch

Playing with Life Uncertainties

Susan Deacy

Susan Deacy

Department of Humanities, University of Roehampton

S.Deacy@roehampton.ac.uk

Hercules and the Autistic Imagination: Introducing the ‘Autism’ Strand of Our Mythical Childhood

Elizabeth Hale

Elizabeth Hale

School of Arts, University of New England

ehale@une.edu.au

Australian Reveries and Floating Schoolgirls: Intertextual Mysteries in Ursula Dubosarsky’s The Golden Day

Edith Hall

Edith Hall

Department of Classics, King’s College London

edith.hall4@btinternet.com

Facing Family Trauma in Natalie Haynes’ The Children of Jocasta

Owen Hodkinson

Owen Hodkinson

Department of Classics, University of Leeds

owen.hodkinson@gmail.com

Orphic Resonances of Love and Loss in David Almond’s A Song for Ella Grey

Markus Janka

Markus Janka

Institute of Classical Philology, Ludwig-Maximilians University of Munich

markus.janka@klassphil.uni-muenchen.de

Hercules as Hero of Hopeful Culture in Ancient Poetry and Contemporary Media for Children and Young Adults

Katarzyna Jerzak

Katarzyna Jerzak

Institute of Modern Languages, Pomeranian University in Słupsk

kasiajerzak@gmail.com

Myth and Suffering in Modern Culture: The Mythical Chronotope from Oscar Wilde to Woodkid

Marguerite Johnson

Marguerite Johnson

School of Humanities and Social Science, University of Newcastle

marguerite.johnson@newcastle.edu.au

‘For the Children’: Children’s Columns in Australian Newspapers during the Great War. Mythic Hope or Mythic Indoctrination?

Jan Kieniewicz

Jan Kieniewicz

Faculty of “Artes Liberales”, University of Warsaw

jotka@al.uw.edu.pl

Bandar-log in Action: The Polish Children’s Experience of Disaster in Literature and Mythology

Bettina Kümmerling-Meibauer

Bettina Kümmerling-Meibauer

German Department, University of Tübingen

bettina.kuemmerling-meibauer@uni-tuebingen.de

The Utopia of an Ideal Community: Reconsidering the Myth of Atlantis in James Gurney’s Dinotopia Novels

Helen Lovatt

Helen Lovatt

Department of Classics, University of Nottingham

helen.lovatt@nottingham.ac.uk

Hungry and Hopeful: Greek Myths and Children of the Future in Mike Carey's Melanie Stories

Nick Lowe

Nick Lowe

Royal Holloway, University of London

n.lowe@rhul.ac.uk

How to Become a Hero?

Katarzyna Marciniak

Katarzyna Marciniak

Faculty of “Artes Liberales”, University of Warsaw

kamar@al.uw.edu.pl

“I Found Hope Again that Night...”: The Orphean Quest of Beauty and the Beast

Lisa Maurice

Lisa Maurice

Department of Classical Studies, Bar-Ilan University

lisa.maurice@biu.ac.il

From Joppa to Jaffa: Percy Jackson and Israeli Fanfiction: A Case Study

Sheila Murnaghan

Sheila Murnaghan

Department of Classical Studies, University of Pennsylvania

smurnagh@sas.upenn.edu

Greek Tragedy for Modern Children: Ali Smith’s The Story of Antigone

Divine Che Neba

Divine Che Neba

Department of English, University of Yaoundé 1

nebankiwang@yahoo.com

Ayi Kwei Armah’s Two Thousand Seasons and Osiris Rising as Pan-African Epics

Sonya Nevin

Sonya Nevin

Department of Humanities, University of Roehampton

sonya.nevin@roehampton.ac.uk

Animating the Ancient World in Warsaw: The Making-Of

Daniel A. Nkemleke

Daniel A. Nkemleke

Department of English, University of Yaoundé 1

nkemlekedan@yahoo.com

Ayi Kwei Armah’s Two Thousand Seasons and Osiris Rising as Pan-African Epics

Elżbieta Olechowska

Elżbieta Olechowska

Faculty of “Artes Liberales”, University of Warsaw

elzbieta.olechowska@gmail.com

Battle between Hope and Destiny in Young Adults Television Series Atlantis (2013-2016), Olympus (2015), and Once Upon a Time, Season 5-6 (2015-2017)

Hanna Paulouskaya

Hanna Paulouskaya

Faculty of “Artes Liberales”, University of Warsaw

hannapa@al.uw.edu.pl

Soviet Cinematic Tragedies as a Help in Growing Up

Edoardo Pecchini

Edoardo Pecchini

Bolzano Hospital / Faculty of “Artes Liberales”, University of Warsaw

edoardo.pecchini@gmail.com

Promoting Mental Health through Classics: Hercules as Trainer in Today’s Labours of Children and Young People

Ayelet Peer

Ayelet Peer

Department of Classical Studies, Bar-Ilan University

ayelet.peer@gmail.com

Growing Up Manga Style

Deborah H. Roberts

Deborah H. Roberts

Department of Classics, Haverford College

droberts@haverford.edu

Gilgamesh as Special Child: Saving the Story

Michael Stierstorfer

Michael Stierstorfer

Institute for German Studies, University of Regensburg / Humanistic High School Albertus Magnus at Regensburg

michael.stierstorfer@ur.de

From an Adolescent Freak to a Hope Spreading Messianic Demigod: The Curious Transformations of Modern Teenagers in Actual Mythopoetic Fantasy Literature

Steve Simons

Steve Simons

Department of Humanities, University of Roehampton

steveksimons@gmail.com

Animating the Ancient World in Warsaw: The Making-Of

Robert A. Sucharski

Robert A. Sucharski

Faculty of “Artes Liberales”, University of Warsaw

sucharsk@al.uw.edu.pl

Joe Alex (Maciej Słomczyński) and His Czarne okręty [The Black Ships]: A History of a Trojan Boy in Times of the Minoan Thalassocrasy

Alfred Twardecki

Alfred Twardecki

National Museum in Warsaw

atwardecki@mnw.art.pl

Project of the Ancient Art: Gallery of the National Museum in Warsaw, 2019

Katerina Volioti

Katerina Volioti

Department of Humanities, University of Roehampton

katerina.volioti@roehampton.ac.uk

Images of a Good Life: Gods in Early Readers for Children in Greece

Moderators, Other Participants & Staff

Giovanna Alvoni

Giovanna Alvoni

Faculty of Classical Philology and Italian Studies, University of Bologna

giovanna.alvoni@unibo.it

Magdalena Gorlinska

Magdalena Gorlińska

Faculty of “Artes Liberales”, University of Warsaw

magdag@al.uw.edu.pl

Raimund Fichtel

Raimund Fichtel

Institute of Classical Philology, Ludwig-Maximilians University of Munich

raimund.fichtel@klassphil.uni-muenchen.de

Przemysław Kordos

Przemysław Kordos

Faculty of “Artes Liberales”, University of Warsaw

pkordos@al.uw.edu.pl

Michał Kucharski

Michał Kucharski

Faculty of “Artes Liberales”, University of Warsaw

kucharski@al.uw.edu.pl

Adam Łukaszewicz

Adam Łukaszewicz

Institute of Archaeology, University of Warsaw

adam.lukaszewicz@adm.uw.edu.pl

David Movrin

David Movrin

Department of Classical Philology, University of Ljubljana

david.movrin@ff.uni-lj.si

Babette Puetz

Babette Puetz

School of Art History, Classics and Religious Studies, Victoria University of Wellington

babette.puetz@vuw.ac.nz

Ulrich Rausch

Ulrich Rausch

Artist Magician & Educator, Germany-Italy

info@zauber-rausch.de

The Magic World of Antiquity

Anne Rogerson

Anne Rogerson

Department of Classical and Ancient History, University of Sydney

anne.rogerson@sydney.edu.au

Barbara Strycharczyk

Barbara Strycharczyk

High School Strumienie

barbara.strycharczyk@sternik.edu.pl

Karoline Thaidigsmann

Karoline Thaidigsmann

Slavic Department, University of Heidelberg

kthaidigsmann@gmx.net

Anna Wojciechowska

Anna Wojciechowska

Mikołaj Rej XI High School

wojciechowskaanna.wa@gmail.com

Students of the Faculty of “Artes Liberales”, University of Warsaw

Zofia Bartnicka

Zofia Bartnicka

zofia.bartnicka@student.uw.edu.pl

The Siren Fatale: Facing Female Eroticism in Children’s Culture

Viktoryia Bartsevich

Viktoryia Bartsevich

v.bartsevich@student.uw.edu.pl

When Your Parent Is an Ancient God

Dorota Bazylczyk

Dorota Bazylczyk

dorota.bazylczyk@student.uw.edu.pl

Mythological Female Figures Struggling with Pains of Adolescence

Joanna Bieńkowska

Joanna Bieńkowska

joanna.bienkowska@student.uw.edu.pl

Hope as a Weapon – Hesiodus’ Myth of Pandora’s Box in “God of War” Video Game Series

Joanna Kłos

Joanna Kłos

joanna.klos@student.uw.edu.pl

The Reception of Medusa among Young Adults in Post-Internet A e s t h e t i c s Visual Art

Agnieszka Maciejewska

Agnieszka Maciejewska

agnieszka.maciejewska@student.uw.edu.pl

Ti etheleis...? – Child Rebellion against a Mythological Background on the Example of Francesca Simon’s Helping Hercules

Anna Mik

Anna Mik

anna.m.mik@gmail.com

Disney Mythical Sanctuary? In Search for Hope in the 1940 Fantasia with the Use of Children-, Gender-, and Animal Studies

Krzysztof Rybak

Krzysztof Rybak

rybak.km@gmail.com

All Is (Not) Lost: Myth in the Shadow of the Holocaust in Jutka’s Insomnia by Dorota Combrzyńska-Nogala

Hanna Zarzycka

Hanna Zarzycka

hanna.zarzycka@student.uw.edu.pl

A Mythical World of Hope in Mythopolis by Alexandra Hetmerova

Students of the Faculty of Philology of the Belarusian State University

Angelina Gerus

Angelina Gerus

angelina.gerus@gmail.com

Dryads: Eco-friendly Mythology

Alena Kaplich

Alena Kaplich

kaplich_elena95@mail.ru

Dryads: Eco-friendly Mythology

Kristina Kachur

Kristina Kachur

kristina.kachur@tut.by

Dryads: Eco-friendly Mythology

Siarhei Lunski

Siarhei Lunski

the.sergaunt@gmail.com

Hercules as a Superhero: Interpretation of the Ancient Myths in Marvel Comic Books

Dzianis Sakalouski

Dzianis Sakalouski

Sokolovsky73@gmail.com

Hercules as a Superhero: Interpretation of the Ancient Myths in Marvel Comic Books

Nastassia Shylava

Nastassia Shylava

ashilova95@gmail.com

Hercules as a Superhero: Interpretation of the Ancient Myths in Marvel Comic Books

Yauheni Pipko

Yauheni Pipko

eugenepipe@skillet.ru

Images of Greek Mythological Characters in “Persona” Game Series

Aliaksandra Stabredava

Aliaksandra Stabredava

a.stabredava@gmail.com

Images of Greek Mythological Characters in “Persona” Game Series

Khrystsina Hunko

Khrystsina Hunko

kristina.gunko1996@mail.ru

Images of Greek Mythological Characters in “Persona” Game Series

Natalya Muzhyla

Natalya Muzhyla

muzhilonataliya1996@mail.ru

The Image of Hercules in Soviet Cartoons

Katsiaryna Kasyan

Katsiaryna Kasyan

pishto.lapapishto@gmail.com

The Image of Hercules in Soviet Cartoons

Tsikhanovich Alina

Tsikhanovich Alina

alina.tihonovich@gmail.com

The Image of Hercules in Soviet Cartoons

This Project has received funding from the European Research Council (ERC) under the European Union’s Horizon 2020 Research and Innovation Programme under grant agreement No 681202, Our Mythical Childhood... The Reception of Classical Antiquity in Children’s and Young Adults’ Culture in Response to Regional and Global Challenges, ERC Consolidator Grant (2016–2021).

Copyright © 2017 OBTA